Workout Review: Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred

27 Mar

I figured since I did say that this blog would include posts about fitness that I should give you a mini review on my most recent workout routine. I don’t usually stick to a particular workout routine for too long because I get bored easily and then I quit all together. The only time that I stick with the same routine is if I start to see results and I’m happy to report that this is one of those occasions!

30 Day Shred

30 Day Shred

I have been doing Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred for the past week and although it’s early I have definitely noticed some results. My stamina has improved only after a few days and I am able to get through the whole 20 minute workout without stopping for a break. My lower body is definitely feeling the heat and I am very sore every morning but its definitely the good kind of sore! I have discovered muscles in my legs that I didn’t know were even there and my shoulders are already starting to show some definition. The only part which is showing only a little improvement are my abs/stomach but that always seems to be the last muscle group to show up to the party anyways.

The workout itself is a three level system, working from the easiest to the hardest. Since it’s called the 30 Day Shred, they say that you should do each level for 10 days to see the best results. I think I will do just that and hopefully I will see some great results in 30 days (just in time for my cruise!). The level one video starts with a brief warm-up of various arm movements and jumping jacks. It then goes right into the first circuit (no breaks!) and each circuit (there are three) is three minutes strength training (with hand weights), two minutes of cardio, and one minute of abs. The strength training involves exercises such as lunges, squats, and chest presses. The cardio portion is jumping jacks, butt kicks, punches, and jump roping (my least favorite). The abs involve different variations of crunches. I do have to say that I HATE the lunges even though I feel those the most, which is probably why I hate them! I use 2.5lb weights but I have always been a weakling when it comes to hand weights so most of you could probably get by with 5 lb weights.

Jillian and her forever-smiling girls, Anita and Natalie

 

I would definitely recommend this workout to anyone who is pressed for time but really wants to see results right away in order to stay motivated.

One Response to “Workout Review: Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred”

  1. Charlene March 31, 2014 at 6:21 pm #

    I’m starting this tomorrow so I’m glad to read that you’ve seen results after a week 🙂

Leave a Reply

