Five Things Friday: Long Long Week

4 Apr

This has been one of the longest weeks that I have experienced in a very long time. I will just start right off and explain to you guys why I haven’t posted since Monday.

1. I came home from work on Monday night and we were just sitting down to dinner when we noticed our cat Billi playing with something by the back door. Dan went over to look and noticed that there was water leaking in from the door. Within minutes, the water was coming in at a more rapid rate. He went upstairs to see if it was coming from up there and found that there was three inches of water in our neighbors kitchen. Apparently, our lovely upstairs neighbor decided to thaw out steak in the sink by running hot water over it and he had the drain blocked so the sink overflowed for about AN HOUR! The water came in through our light fixtures and saturated our kitchen and bedroom walls and ceilings. The restoration company has installed a bunch of fans and dehumidifiers and our bedroom is dry as of today but the kitchen walls are still soaked. The fans make it very hot and loud and I honestly just haven’t had the energy to write any other posts this week.

But seriously.

But seriously.

2. Due to the noise and heat from the fans, Dan and I were able to have an unexpected date night at Plan B on Wednesday. It just so happened that it was National PB&J day and Plan B was serving my favorite PB&J burger all week! We also ordered a beer flight where we got to sample five different draft beers. My hands-down favorite was the Avita Purple Haze. I loved it so much that I bought it when I went to Whole Foods yesterday evening.

Sorry about the crappy restaurant lighting.

Sorry about the crappy restaurant lighting.

Is it sad that this burger was the highlight of my week?

Is it sad that this burger was the highlight of my week?

Quite embarrassing but every person needs one of these pics :)

Quite embarrassing but every person needs one of these pics 🙂

3. I was kind of able to pamper myself somewhat this week which definitely helped with my stress level. Tuesday was my day off so I ended up getting my nails and eyebrows done. I picked a lovely watermelon shade of pink for my nails and that definitely got me in the spring mood. Yesterday I left work an hour early and FINALLY got a haircut. I haven’t gotten one since Christmastime so it felt great to get rid of those split ends that have been driving me crazy. I also gave myself a pedicure yesterday evening while watching Scandal on Netflix (obsessed by the way) so that was definitely a nice little treat as well.

4. The reason for all of the pampering is because Saturday evening is the Glastonbury Fire Department’s Annual Awards Banquet. I look forward to this every year as it is a chance to get all dressed up and have a nice fancy dinner with all of my friends. This year, Dan will be receiving his award for five years of service in the department (yay!) so I am very excited about that. The place where the banquet is held is extremely close to our apartment so we are able to walk there and then walk over to the Diamond after for drinks with everyone. I bought my dress for the banquet at TJ Maxx and I got a killer deal. It’s a blue Ralph Lauren dress that was originally $169 and then marked down to $50 and again to $30 on clearance. I will post pictures from the banquet on Monday so you guys can see it.

5. I successfully (and painfully) completed my first run of the year outside yesterday evening. I was looking at my calendar at work today and realized that my first 5k is at the end of this month so I figured it was about time to get my butt in gear. Since I got out of work early and it was so nice out, I had no excuse. I ran for about a mile and a half (well ran and walked) and was averaging about a 13 minute mile which is pretty normal for me. I had some horrendous side cramps throughout the run so I think I will hopefully do better next time.

Very painful and short run

Very painful and short run

Have you ever had a week where everything possible seemed to be going wrong?

Have you started your outdoor workouts yet?

Leave a Reply

