WIAW: My Favorite Chains

9 Apr
Happy Hump Day! First off, I would like to start by saying congrats to my UConn Huskies Men’s and Women’s Basketball teams on winning the National Championship! That is basically the reason why you didn’t hear from me the past two days. I went out to celebrate the game with Dan and Alex and it was so much FUN! Anyone that knows me knows that I love my Huskies (UConn is where I went to college) and I love watching the games and seeing them win, especially this year’s teams. Anyways, today I figured I would write about something that I have seen a few other bloggers write about and that is my favorite chain restaurants. Now I know that chain restaurants are kind of taboo in the foodie world but I am a firm believer that not all chains are gross and unhealthy. There are always menu gems that can be found anywhere if you look hard enough.
This is a true story.

This is a true story.

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I love Five Guys. In the past few years, I have become a big lover of cheeseburgers and this place is at the top of my list for a fast food burger. I don’t go here too often but when I do, it is definitely a special treat. I usually get a Little Cheeseburger with lettuce, tomato, pickles, ketchup, and mustard. I always tell myself that I won’t get fries but as soon as I walk in the door and smell them, I can’t resist. The one thing I love about Five Guys is how fresh, local, and plentiful their ingredients are, which is extremely rare for a fast food restaurant. I am a big lover of as many toppings as possible on my sandwiches and burgers (especially healthy toppings) and this place definitely does that for me.
Got this from google :)

Got this from google 🙂

Every few weeks or so I find myself with a huge craving for Mexican food and I just have to have it. Now I know that I could easily replicate this food at home but sometimes I want to forgo that effort and be able to spend more time on the couch catching up on my DVR. Moe’s is a great example of a fast food restaurant in which it is totally possible to get a healthy and delicious meal at a decent price. I used to get a burrito every single time, but now that I am trying to be more health conscious I have been getting a burrito bowl and just filling it to the max with all kinds of veggies. I usually get pulled pork, a little bit of rice, black beans, lettuce, pico de gallo, black olives, corn salsa, guacamole, and cheese. This is a good-sized lunch/dinner that keeps me full for hours.
I recently rediscovered Ruby Tuesday on a trip to a mall in our area with my friend Natasha. The mall didn’t really have any other sit down options so we decided to go there and I am so glad we did. I hadn’t really been there since back in the days of back to school shopping with my mom and that was ALWAYS where we went for dinner. I have a soft spot for their salad bar and I was pleased to find that their menu had become much healthier than I had remembered. I got the fish tacos with the salad bar and this was AMAZING. I had never had fish tacos before because I can’t stand cilantro but Natasha just told me to order them without the fresh cilantro (duh!). I would definitely come back here since there were several other menu items that I wanted to try and their salad bar was so filling and delicious.
Home of an awesome salad bar!

Home of an awesome salad bar!

Now this chain is one that I have only been to twice but I am already planning another trip since everything was so wonderful the first two times. The Bang Bang shrimp are probably one of my top five favorite foods of all time. There aren’t even words to really describe how amazing they are. I suggest that you go get some now! 🙂 As far as entrees go, I have tried the sea scallops & shrimp with the mango salsa as my sauce and this was so fresh and delicious. Last time we went I got the crab cakes which were also wonderful and they didn’t have too much filling like most crab cakes usually do. Their drink menu is also extensive and I always have to try something new when I go.
What is your favorite chain restaurant?
What is your favorite meal from that restaurant?
Leave a Reply

