Playing Catch Up

1 May

It’s almost Friday and I am actually wanting this week to slow down a little bit. We have had so much stuff to do for the vacation that we have just been go, go, go since the week began. I can’t believe this is my first post of this week.

Not too much has been going on this week (beside vaca prep) but this past weekend I ran my first 5K! Color Me Rad was so much fun and I am so glad I was given the opportunity to do it (Thanks Kaitlin!). I ran it with Dan, Alex, and my cousin Daniel and they were a great support team who really helped to push me through those moments when I thought I couldn’t run any further. We finished in about 43 mins which isn’t great but we also slowed down quite a few times at color stations, particularly one at the end where there was a line to get a color bomb. The shower after that race was probably one of the best I have ever taken since I was covered in color and just felt gross from being outside in the rain for over an hour. I think I will definitely do a 5K again soon but nothing too competitive since I’m still at the walk/run stage of running longer distances.

Crazy color!

Crazy color!

I had to get one of Dan and I :)

I had to get one of Dan and I 🙂

Even though I’ve been pressed for time all week, I have been able to make the time to get in some great workouts as well as some yummy dinners. On Monday and Tuesday I ran on the treadmill for 30 minutes and then did 10 minutes on the stair climber (boy was that tough!). Yesterday I switched it up a little bit and did the Crosstrainer for 30 minutes and then lifted weights for about 10 minutes. As far as dinners go, Monday I put together a quick cheese plate with some buffalo cheddar and some Cabot sharp cheddar cheese with some crackers, pepperoni, and then some roasted Brussels sprouts to get in my veggie fix. I also prepared a little bit of quick tuna salad on the side for some extra protein.

This is making me crave cheese right now!

This is making me crave cheese right now!

Yesterday I was craving a good sandwich for dinner like no other so I went to the store after the gym and got some Kaiser rolls, turkey breast, and pepperjack cheese. I made myself a delicious sandwich to which I also added lettuce, tomato, avocado, and some truffle aioli which I am absolutely obsessed with. That sandwich really hit the spot and I can’t wait to have one again tonight before softball!

ALL the carbs. YUM!

ALL the carbs. YUM!

Time to head out to work! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

