WIAW: Back Again!

4 Jun

Happy hump day! I’m so sorry it has been so long since I’ve posted but life has kind of grabbed a hold of us and I have had zero time to blog. Vacation was awesome and I intend to do a wordless photo dump of (mostly) food pictures from the cruise. I figured that today I would fill you guys in on a couple of meals I have had recently as well as a workout I literally just completed.

Since we have come back from vaca, I have been really making a conscious effort to eat healthier. I feel like I say this all the time but the wedding is almost a year away and I am FULLY aware that results don’t come overnight. I figured that since we are SO busy, lunch is the easiest meal of the day to shape my healthy eating habits. I have been bringing a salad beast every day for lunch and let me tell you, they have been delish. The main staples in these salads always include romaine lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, green olives, capers, pickles, turkey, and shredded cheddar cheese. Sometimes I just add in random little bits from dinner the night before such as corn right off the cob and water chestnuts. The only problem has been the dressing since I tend to get bored of the same one every single day. This week I have discovered Newman’s Own Light Honey Mustard which is amazing and I highly recommend it.

Salad beast with ALL the things

Salad beast with ALL the things

Yesterday I started my first of hopefully many days of working out in the morning before work so my workout is done and I have the evening free. My body was definitely not used to this burst of energy in the morning and therefore I was STARVING all day long. I literally spent the entire day thinking about what I would have for dinner and I decided on a classic tuna salad sandwich. I wanted to hold back on the carb front a little bit so I went to Whole Foods and picked up some of their sandwich thins along with a tomato, avocado, and some muenster cheese. I had Dan order me some sweet potato fries from the Diamond because I am always craving them. This dinner was SO amazing and probably one of my favorites ever. If you can’t make up your mind on dinner, always go back to the classics and you will not be sorry.

Classic.. and obvs enjoyed with a Landshark :)

Classic.. and obvs enjoyed with a Landshark 🙂

As I mentioned I just started working out in the morning and so far I am very pleased. It isn’t as hard as I thought to get up early and I enjoy the extra energy I have had the last two days. Yesterday I did the elliptical for 20 minutes and then lifted some weights. Today I found a walking workout on Pinterest with INSANE inclines and I did that for 30 mins. I definitely need to adjust my morning calorie intake to adjust for the calories burned in the morning instead of in the evening but overall, I’m happy so far.

This one was a killer!

This one was a killer!

Have a great Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

