WIAW: Republic

11 Jun

I wouldn’t necessarily call this a “What I Ate Wednesday” post but its more like a “What I Ate Last Friday” at Republic in Bloomfield, CT post. This place was so delicious and unique that I had to give it it’s own post. It was really unlike anywhere that I have ever been before, mainly due to the fact that I wanted to try EVERYTHING on the menu. Okay so enough of my babbling and let’s get on to the food itself.

Be sure to link up your posts to the #WIAW party too!

We arrived and were promptly seated outside (our choice) to enjoy the beautiful evening, although I would definitely like to go back and sit inside since the vibe seemed very cool. I had done quite a bit of menu-stalking prior to our visit so I knew that I wanted to start with the Strawberry Basil martini as my cocktail of choice. This drink included hammer & sickle vodka, muddled strawberries, basil infused simple syrup, lime juice, and balsamic vinegar. I could not believe how tasty and refreshing this martini was and I will definitely be ordering more “basil” drinks in the future.

Mmm I want one now!

Mmm I want one now!

I knew that deciding on only a couple of apps would be tough since everything looked great but I decided on the Sriracha Devilled Eggs (my fave- hello the name of this blog!) and the cheese plate. The devilled eggs were perfect and not too spicy so Alex enjoyed them as well.

They came in a cute little basket with real hay!

They came in a cute little basket with real hay!

The three cheeses that I tried were all equally delicious but the one I LOVED was the Truffle Burratta which was probably my favorite cheese that I have ever had the pleasure of tasting. Dan chose the Roasted Elephant Garlic which was accompanied by crostini for spreading and he loves ALL things garlic so this was pure bliss for him. Alex had the House Made Guacamole which was SO fresh and tasty.

I am obsessed with cheese.

I am obsessed with cheese.

Although I had menu-stalked Republic, I had not decided on what I would get as my entrée. My decision was made for me when our hostess (who also happens to be Dan’s boss’s daughter) recommended the Gorgonzola, Fontina, Brie, and Pear flatbread and basically said it was a must-have so I was sold. It also had an onion spread, balsamic reduction, and some arugula on top. This was such an unreal combination of sweet and savory and I definitely experienced a food-gasm upon my first bite. I was so full from everything else that I was only able to eat one piece but you better believe that I took the rest home and those leftovers made for an amazing breakfast on both Saturday and Sunday.

So much amazing in this picture

So much amazing in this picture

The flatbread was very tasty but the hands-down highlight of the meal had to be the Bacon Roasted Brussels Sprouts. Can I just tell you that this was the single most amazing dish that I have ever eaten in my entire life. They were absolutely mind-blowing and not only were they roasted to perfection but they included chunks of bacon and were topped with a sweet yogurt sauce and apple slices. Next time I visit Republic I would literally just get two orders of these and have them as my dinner. They really were that amazing.

This picture doesn't even begin to capture the heaven that these baby cabbages were.

This picture doesn’t even begin to capture the heaven that these baby cabbages were.

Dan had the Philly Cheese Steak sandwich and said it was the best one he has ever had. That seemed to be the theme of the evening 🙂 Alex also enjoyed her Grilled Veggie Panini and especially loved the flavor of the pesto.

He said the fries were perfect as well.

He said the fries were perfect as well.

I cannot wait to visit Republic again and try more menu items (specifically those with the word “truffle” in them). I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for a unique food experience in an equally unique and enjoyable environment.

One Response to “WIAW: Republic”

  1. Caitlin June 28, 2014 at 10:33 am #

    Republic’s brussels are everything!!! I’ve been there twice, once for drinks and once to eat. I obviously had those brussels and they were sooooo good. Not the best I’ve ever had (yes there are more amazing ones out there!) but pretty darn up there. I love their bourbon cocktails so much and I had the deviled eggs too but when I went, they weren’t siracha!

Leave a Reply

