My Very First Newport Trip!

15 Jul

Although I could have included my recap of my Newport trip in a Marvelous Monday post, it was such a wonderful experience that I wanted to write a whole post just on the trip. I was so excited for this trip because Caitlin had posted so many great things about her experience in Newport for 4th of July that I knew it would be an amazing time.

I went to Newport on Sunday with my friends Carlee and Kaitlin to celebrate Carlee’s 25th birthday! We left from Kaitlin’s parent’s house bright and early at 8am to get a good start on the day.

All ready to hit the road!

All ready to hit the road!

We had to be in Newport before 11:00 to make it to our Lighthouses & Mimosas cruise that we had planned as a birthday surprise for Carlee. We arrived a little after 10:00 and we parked and walked around for a bit before heading over to the docks where our boat, The Rum Runner II, was docked.

Our boat, Rum Runner II (very appropriately named)

Our boat, Rum Runner II (very appropriately named)

This cruise was such a blast and I can’t wait to bring Dan and Alex back to do it again so they can experience it! It was 90 minutes long and we were able to see five different light houses along with many of the amazing waterfront mansions.

The lighthouses were so cool!

The lighthouses were so cool!

The $25 ticket also included unlimited mimosas which were passed around in pitchers. We each had at least three of them so we definitely had our money’s worth! 🙂 The tour guides on the boat were great and we all learned a lot of Newport history.

Cheers!

Cheers!

After the cruise we were starving and Carlee and Kaitlin had already picked our lunch spot, The Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant, which was a place that they had both been to before and loved. Brick Alley had such a cool and unique vibe and I’m so glad we went there. The food was AMAZING too. I started off with a Newport Storm Rhode Island Blueberry beer which actually had blueberries floating in it so needless to say it was delicious and very refreshing.

I want one right now!

I want one right now!

For my meal, I decided on the Lobstacado which was an open-faced English muffin topped with cold lobster salad and sliced avocado and toasted with muenster cheese melted on top. This was insanely delicious and I want to recreate it at home as soon as possible. The lobster salad was so fresh and it went perfectly with the avocado (why didn’t I think of that?). It came with a side and I decided on a side salad which actually had quite a variety of veggies and I went with ranch dressing because I had a serious craving for it.

So much delicious

So much delicious

After lunch, we walked around and did some shopping. I purchased a very comfy coral sweatshirt, a couple of birthday gifts for friends, a Newport shirt for Dan, and my favorite purchase which was a lobster Tervis cup which I am actually drinking out of as I type this 🙂 We also met up with our friends Mike and Daniela who were there to celebrate Daniela’s birthday.

I am obsessed with lobster everything

I am obsessed with lobster everything

I wanted to take many more pictures than I actually did but my phone battery died about halfway through the day so until we got in the car to leave, I couldn’t get very many pictures. Although I did get a picture of a Newport fire truck for Dan which made him happy.

Yes I was the weirdo standing in the middle of the street taking this picture

Yes I was the weirdo standing in the middle of the street taking this picture

We wanted to head home a little early to try and avoid the traffic but we had decided ahead of time to stop at a vineyard on the way home because we love ALL the wine. Kaitlin pulled into Newport Vineyards and I immediately fell in love. Carlee and I did a tasting and it was wonderful. They had so many different wines to choose from that it was almost overwhelming! This just means that I have to go back many more times to try everything 😉

I love that glass, so cute!

I love that glass, so cute!

It was such a great day spent with two people that I absolutely adore. We bonded so much and it was just so great to be able to relax and enjoy a day without any real plan in mind.

 

One Response to “My Very First Newport Trip!”

  1. Caitlin July 15, 2014 at 9:18 am #

    I just loooove Brick Alley Pub! Their salad bar is so awesome! I have to say I cannot stand blueberry beer or when they put blueberries in it – it reminds me of rat droppings! Haha but a blueberry beer or any beer was surely refreshing on a summer day. Newport Vineyards is so great! Last summer I bought a $20 bottle of Landot Noir there and still haven’t opened it. I’m saving it for something special!

Leave a Reply

