Five Things Friday!

1 Aug

I am SOO happy that it’s finally Friday. I have a busy weekend coming up but I’m excited about that because it will be filled with lots of great times with friends.

1. I am still loving my Polar FT4 heart rate monitor watch. It is so great to be able to put into perspective the days that I really put in a good workout versus the days that I’m dragging a little bit. I highly encourage that everyone picks up one of these guys since they are very helpful for working out.

2. We had an amazing dinner on Tuesday night at my Grandma’s house. She always goes to Maine for a week during the summer for vacation and while she’s gone, it has become a tradition for Dan and I to go over there and get a TON of laundry done and cook a steak dinner on her grill. We also baked some sweet potatoes and sautéed some brussels sprouts which were obviously my favorite part of the meal (who am I?!).

3. Along with that great meal on Tuesday we also made an awesome dinner on Wednesday (two nights in a row!). For a very long time, I had been wanting to roast a spaghetti squash use that in place of pasta in a meal. I am SO glad that we finally did this and I am kicking myself for not trying it sooner. I have never really been a big pasta fan because of how I feel after eating it so this was such a good substitute. We roasted the squash in the oven, scooped it out, and then topped it with pasta sauce, sautéed tomatoes, and a sprinkle of goat cheese. Holy delish! I can’t wait to make more recipes using spaghetti squash.

I basically put goat cheese on everything now.

I basically put goat cheese on everything now.

4. Last night was our last regular season softball game and although we lost, it was so much fun! I received a surprise visit from my Aunt Jodi and my cousin Sean who is one of my very favorite people in the world. After the game, the team ordered pizza and drank some beers and just spent some wonderful time together.

5. Tomorrow night is the Jason Aldean/Florida Georgia Line concert and I can’t wait! I am looking forward to some more shenanigans like the ones that took place at the Rascal Flatts concert. It’s supposed to rain but that shouldn’t put too much of a damper on the day.

Alrighty, well it’s time to get in gear and get ready for work! Have a great weekend!

One Response to “Five Things Friday!”

  1. Caitlin August 1, 2014 at 9:39 am #

    I hope you don’t get rained on at all tonight! Spaghetti squash is so good but a pain in the ass to make. I’ve found it’s hard to get the seeds out completely. But damn yes it is so delish. I love finding it at restaurants because then I don’t have to do any work 😛
    That meal at your grandma’s sounds incredible and um “who am I” in regards to Brussels – maybe you’re me?! Haha

Leave a Reply

