Marvelous Monday: Short But Sweet!

25 Aug

The weekends when I have to work barely feel like a weekend to me so I do really try my best to fit in ALL the fun. I was hindered slightly this weekend due to a sore throat that started on Saturday night but I didn’t let that hold me back too much.

Marvelous is… a four mile Saturday night walk with Dan. My workouts were limited this week due to a few late nights for softball so it felt really good to get outside and get some exercise. I didn’t think that we would end up going that far of a distance but I’m glad we did because I definitely enjoyed quite a bit of Whole Foods cheese when I got home. My throat started to hurt almost as soon as we got home so I went to bed very early.

082314 walk

Marvelous is… a very productive trip to the Coventry Regional Farmers Market yesterday morning. It was a perfect day to be outside soaking up the sun and it made me feel a lot better overall. Our haul included ground turkey from Ekonk Hill Turkey farm, corn, cucumbers, grape tomatoes, and Pure Love blueberry pecan granola. I am obsessed with that granola and it was the last week of it for the season but the nice woman at the booth assured me that there were many amazing fall flavors coming out so I am looking forward to that. Rizzuto’s Restaurant & Bar was also there sampling a smoked salmon topped with a honey sauce with sautéed kale and swiss chard. This was so delicious and we have definitely added Rizzuto’s to our list of restaurants that we must visit.

So many people.

So many people.

Rizzuto’s food prep.

Gimme more please.

Gimme more please.

Marvelous is… a ferry ride over to Rocky Hill for lunch at Shad Row. It was both my first time on the ferry and at Shad Row and both experiences were wonderful. The ferry ride gave me another opportunity to seize summer weather while it lasts and the food at Shad Row was yummy. I had a Po Boy sandwich with a side of potato salad and both were very flavorful. I would really like to take another ferry ride before summer is over.

Fried amazingness. YUM.

Fried amazingness. YUM.

It felt like we were at the beach.

It felt like we were at the beach.

Marvelous is… a fresh and local home-cooked Sunday night dinner. We had a True Love farms pork steak from a previous farmer’s market trip and we also cooked up some corn on the cob as well as a cold green bean salad. I came up with the salad on my own by mixing steamed (but cold) green beans, halved grape tomatoes, minced garlic, goat cheese, olive oil, red wine vinegar and some salt and pepper. I could honestly put goat cheese on anything and everything but this salad was perfect as a summer side dish. The entire meal was excellent and I felt perfectly full after and not too stuffed. It was a great ending to a short but sweet weekend 🙂

Summer meals are my favorite.

Summer meals are my favorite.

Have a happy Monday!  

 

Leave a Reply

