Labor Day Weekend Recap

3 Sep

I am SO happy it’s already Wednesday! Today is one of my three days of work this week, due to having a four day weekend and then I have this coming Saturday off for Natasha and Brian’s wedding (YAY!!). This Labor Day weekend was truly one of the best and I spent so much fabulous time with Dan and our friends.

Friday night:

I left work early as planned and met up with Dan and my family to tailgate for the UConn vs. BYU game. We ordered pizza (and a salad for me) from Giovanni’s and it was so much fun to just hang out and relax. I definitely enjoyed some wine before and during the game (it was a terrible game) and we bounced around between our seats and visiting with my family and with Dan’s dad who was also in attendance. We left the game a little early and headed to the Diamond where more fun times were had 🙂

It was a perfect night!

It was a perfect night!

Saturday:

I made plans earlier in the week to go to a vineyard with Dan and Carlee (one of my bridesmaids and oldest friends). We decided on Bishop’s Orchard Winery in Guilford, CT which Dan and I had previously sampled wine from at the CT Wine Fest. It was about an hour long drive but it was our first mini road-trip in our new (used) Ford Explorer so we were excited to go. The wine was terrific and it was interesting to learn that none of their wines are made with grapes but rather other fruits like apples, pears, peaches, raspberries, etc. My favorite was the Apple Raspberry Blush, of which I obviously took a bottle of home for our collection.

They have won so many awards!

They have won so many awards!

Saturday evening:

Saturday night was Brian’s stag and all of the guys were attending so we decided to have a girls night. Natasha, Alex, Melissa, Jenna, Isabel, her son Levi, and I all went to Bricco Trattoria for dinner. It was so delicious and also great to have a night out with the ladies. After dinner, we hung out at my apartment and watched some TV and enjoyed quite a bit of wine (thanks Denise!).

Levi was definitely the best part of the night :)

Levi was definitely the best part of the night 🙂

My truffle pizza with an egg added (duh)

My truffle pizza with an egg added (duh)

Up close and personal

Up close and personal

Anddd chocolate cake, because why not?

Anddd chocolate cake, because why not?

Sunday:

We didn’t really do too much on Sunday but I did finally get a dress for Brian and Natasha’s wedding. I’m going to keep it a surprise for now but I will definitely share pics from the wedding after this weekend. We also had a delicious lobster dinner complete with baked potatoes, stuffed clams, and corn on the cob at Dan’s parents house (boy are we spoiled!).

It isn't Labor day without lobster

It isn’t Labor day without lobster

Monday:

I woke up on Monday ready for a good workout since I had two rest days in a row. I did a quick kickboxing workout on the Xbox and then convinced Dan to finally go for that hike I’ve been thinking about forever. We completed a little over two miles and then we decided to hit up Dondero Orchards in South Glastonbury to do some blueberry picking. They were serving blueberry fritters which neither of us had tried before so we obviously got those also. They were AMAZING. We came home to shower and prepared dinner as we had two of our favorite people, Erica and Jon, coming over for dinner. We made homemade burrito bowls (similar to Chipotle/Moes style) filled to the brim with so many toppings. They were a big hit and Dan keeps asking why we haven’t made them sooner. Dan used the blueberries that we had picked earlier in the day and made a delicious blueberry crisp. It was a perfect dinner 🙂

We actually hiked out to the place where we got engaged!

We actually hiked out to the place where we got engaged!

I recommend that you try blueberry fritters immediately. They will complete your life.

I recommend that you try blueberry fritters immediately. They will complete your life.

My burrito bowl, topped with a heaping spoonful (or two) of plain chobani.

My burrito bowl, topped with a heaping spoonful (or two) of plain chobani.

It doesn't photograph very well but SO much yum!

It doesn’t photograph very well but SO much yum!

I had yesterday off too and I did absolutely nothing but run a few errands and relax so nothing too interesting there. I hope everyone has a great week!

Leave a Reply

