Things I’m Loving Friday

12 Sep

Happy Friday! I figured that since I always do a “Five Things Friday” post, I would try something a little different this week and post about a few things that I am currently obsessing over. This week was pretty busy, hence why I didn’t post anything until today, but I’m very excited to share something different today.

Things I’m Loving:

  • Fall-related things

To be completely honest, I was never really a big “fall” person because I have always felt like it has gotten in between me and my favorite time of year aka. Christmas. This year has been different and I can’t wait to do things like go apple-picking and go to more fairs, and wear scarves, etc. Tonight, I am stopping at the mall after work to get a couple of birthday presents and I’m planning on stopping at Yankee Candle and Bath and Body Works to pick up some fall-scented candles since I have a few coupons and I’m obviously obsessed with candles. I am also loving the pumpkin beers, specifically the Traveler variety.

This is very yummy and I highly recommend it

This is very yummy and I highly recommend it

  • Home-cooked meals

I am ALL for going out to dinner but there is something to be said for a nice home-cooked meal. Every single meal I have enjoyed this week has been home-cooked and that gives me a sense of accomplishment since I have not only saved money but I feel that I have improved my cooking skills. I will say that two of my dinners were really just bowls filled with lentils, eggs, and whatever else I could find in my fridge but I did learn how to poach eggs which was not as hard as I thought it would be without actually having an egg poacher.

Poached eggs, Brussels, lentils, and goat cheese

Poached eggs, Brussels, lentils, and goat cheese

Two eggs on a salad with lentils, cucumbers, peppers, goat cheese and tossed in salsa and plain chobani

Two eggs on a salad with lentils, cucumbers, peppers, goat cheese and tossed in salsa and plain chobani

Chicken and cheese quesadilla (w/ guac, plain chobani, & salsa) and a side of Brussels

Chicken and cheese quesadilla (w/ guac, plain chobani, & salsa) and a side of Brussels

Now this isn’t a new realization for me but I did make a long awaited trip with Dan last night and picked up some goodies that I have been dying to try. I bought dark chocolate peanut butter cups (HOLY CRAP), baked green peas, rice crackers, frozen turkey burgers, and an Italian cheddar truffle cheese that literally has changed my life. But seriously, that cheese is my new favorite thing ever. I am very excited to try the turkey burgers because they were very affordable at $2.99 for 4 of them.

So much awesome in this picture

So much awesome in this picture

I know that I am late to this party but this show is AMAZING. I’m pretty sure that anything that Shonda Rhimes creates would be great but this show is a new favorite. I am desperately trying to catch up on Netflix before the new season premieres on Sept 25th. I just started the third season and all I can say is, Olivia Pope is one of the most frustrating characters ever to exist on any TV show that I have seen! Who agrees with me?!

There has been no truer statement.

There has been no truer statement.

That is all I have for this fabulous Friday and I hope that everyone has a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

