Marvelous Monday: The Big E!

22 Sep

Happy Monday? Yes, that was a question because I’m definitely dragging a little bit today but a little bit of coffee will help with that I’m sure. I worked on Saturday and we spent Sunday at the Big E with a group of our friends so it was a jam-packed weekend.

I got out of work on Saturday and planned on getting our grocery shopping done and then heading up to Verizon to order my new iPhone 6 (YAY – ps. I have an upgrade and with my trade-in, it’s going to cost me practically nothing so double YAY!). We were able to get those things done except I’m going back to Verizon tonight after work since there was an hour wait when we went and I was able to make an actual appointment for tonight. After all of that we grabbed dinner at Moe’s for ourselves and Dan’s parents and headed up there to spend some time with them before they head off on vacation to Martha’s Vineyard. I devoured a Moe’s chicken burrito bowl with ALL the toppings and also enjoyed some yummy red wine with Dan’s mom.

Why hello there beautiful

Why hello there beautiful

On Sunday morning, a bunch of our friends met us at our place and we headed up to the Big E. We started the day by going through each of the New England buildings (each state has a different building showcasing their vendors, food, and such).

oh why thank you, I do every day :)

oh why thank you, I do every day 🙂

My highlight of the building was definitely the maple iced coffee in the Vermont building. I have no idea what they put in it but it was SO delicious.

He is enjoying my picture-taking oh so much

He is enjoying my picture-taking oh so much

I also enjoyed a baked potato from the Maine building which is always a must-have at the Big E. I wouldn’t hesitate to say that it’s probably one of the most popular food items of all of the food at the fair. I always get my potato loaded with everything (butter, sour cream, cheese, chives and bacon) because you only live once, right?

This was perfection

This was perfection

I washed down that potato greatness with a Shipyard Pumpkinhead beer which had the rim of the glass dipped in caramel sauce and cinnamon sugar. It was so perfect and refreshing on what was an extremely hot and humid day.

It's basically Fall in a sugar-coated cup :)

It’s basically Fall in a sugar-coated cup 🙂

Although it seems like we spent the entire day eating, we actually did quite a few other things as well. We browsed through many of the other buildings including the Farm-a-rama which had the most adorable baby pigs snuggling with their mom.

We all agreed that these were the cutest animals ever

We all agreed that these were the cutest animals ever

We also walked through the petting zoo and I took a particular liking to the camel because he was making the funniest faces the entire time we were in there 🙂

What day is it?! (Sorry I had to go there) ;)

What day is it?! (Sorry I had to go there) 😉

Dan, Kevin, and Robbie also enjoyed a ride on the swings and I obviously had to get a picture of that because it was SO adorable.

Those are some happy boys!

Those are some happy boys!

I ended the day with something that I had been talking about trying forever, a fried peanut butter and jelly sandwich. This was INSANE and by insane, I mean entirely delicious and I wish I could have one every day of my life.

I wish I could eat fried everything all the time

I wish I could eat fried everything all the time

It was a wonderful day spent with great people 🙂 I hope you guys have a great start to the week!

Have you been to any fairs yet this year?

What is your favorite fair food?

Leave a Reply

