Delicious Slow-Cooker Chili

25 Sep

I am very excited to share this post with you today because it is my first ever recipe that I came up with on my own. I have been craving chili for weeks but I was holding out for the weather to get a little bit more chilly since no one likes to eat chili when it’s hot outside (except maybe me). This wasn’t my first time making chili in the crock-pot but the recipes that I have made before just didn’t have exactly the flavor I was looking for, so I came up with my own! It took a while to come up with and I definitely browsed the internet for a while looking at different chili recipes to help piece together mine.

That is usually what happens. This time was a WIN!

That is usually what happens. This time was a WIN!

I started the prep the night before by chopping up a green bell pepper and half of a medium yellow onion (you can use more onion but I’m not a fan so I use less). I also mixed the spices together the night before so it was one less thing I had to do in the morning. Dan helped me out a lot by browning the ground beef the night before too. I am ALL about the preparation.

This was before I left for work

This was before I left for work

The meat I chose to use was ground beef because I had it in the freezer but you can certainly use ground turkey or even chicken and it would be amazing. Before I left for work in the morning, I just threw all of the ingredients in the crock pot and set it to low and I was on my way! It cooked for about 10 hours until I got home and it was all ready.

This is what I came home to.. SO much delicious

This is what I came home to.. SO much delicious

I topped my bowl with some diced avocado, shredded cheese, and plain Greek yogurt and it was scrumptious. It had the perfect level of spiciness and the exact flavor that I had been searching for. The “secret” ingredient was replacing the water that would normally go into chili with beer and that made ALL the difference. Dan absolutely loved it and after his first bite he stated “that was definitely a food-gasm right there”. I definitely recommend making this, particularly on a crisp fall night because it warms you right up!

The avocado was an excellent topping. We also enjoyed some cornbread on the side :)

The avocado was an excellent topping. We also enjoyed some cornbread on the side 🙂

Slow Cooker Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. ground beef (or turkey or chicken)
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 can whole corn kernels
  • 1/2 medium yellow onion, diced
  • 1 small green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 8 oz. can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 can of Rotel, with juice
  • 1 15 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 cup of beer (any kind, I used Bud Light)

Directions:

  1. Cook the ground beef in a pan until browned.
  2. Dice the green bell pepper and the onion, and mince the garlic.
  3. Put the beef, pepper, onion, and garlic into the slow cooker. Add the remaining ingredients and stir to combine.
  4. Cover the slow cooker and cook, on low, for 8-10 hours.
  5. Serve sprinkled with shredded cheese, Greek yogurt (or sour cream), and avocado if desired.

I hope you guys enjoy this meal as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

