Barcelona Wine Bar, Part Dos

2 Oct

Happy Thursday guys! I can’t believe it’s already October and there is almost one year until our wedding (AHH!). Tuesday was my day off and as I had mentioned, Dan and I had decided to go out to dinner at Barcelona Wine Bar to celebrate one year of being engaged. I had definitely built up huge expectations leading up to this visit and he was not disappointed. I found out that they do an amazing happy hour with $5 glasses of wine and tapas that are $2/$3 so it couldn’t have been more perfect.

We arrived and were promptly seated at a table with a great view of the entire restaurant. I had my mind on a glass of red wine and I decided on a 2012 Ochoa Tempranillo which was my first taste of Spanish wine and I loved it. It had a spicy kick that hit right after the initial sip and I love when wine can play with my senses like that. Dan enjoyed a Narragansett draft which he doesn’t get to have very often so he was happy with his choice.

I love red wine :)

I love red wine 🙂

The waitress brought out the bread and olive oil right away and I wasn’t even able to get a picture because we devoured it so quickly. I’m really not usually a bread person since it fills me up but there is something about Barcelona’s bread that makes me not be able to resist.

The first two tapas we were served were the potato tortilla and the spinach chickpea cazuela. I traveled to Spain in high school and I ate real Spanish tortilla many times while there and this was so authentic! It brought me back some very happy memories of dining outside with my classmates in Spain. It was Dan’s idea to order the cazuela which surprised me but I was so happy he did. It was flavorful and fresh but so simple at the same time. I would definitely order it again and I want to try to make something similar at home too!

Spanish tortilla

Spanish tortilla

Spinach chickpea cazuela

Spinach chickpea cazuela

The next tapas to arrive at our table were the gambas al ajillo (shrimp) and the albondigas (meatballs). I only had one of the shrimp since I had sampled those previously at Natasha’s bachelorette and they were just as delicious as I had remembered. I LOVED the meatballs more than I can even explain. Most restaurants do not put enough effort into their meatballs and they just never seem to have enough flavor but these were absolutely amazing. They were big enough that they had to be cut in half and the flavor reminded me of a homemade meatball that my Grandma would make. These tasted like they were homemade and made with love (corny, yes, but so true).

These little guys were amazing

These little guys were amazing

Albondigas

Albondigas

The chicken empanadas were next and I picked these because I knew Dan would love them (and he definitely did). They had just the right amount of spice and when mixed with the avocado puree provided on the side, it was an absolute explosion of flavor. The cool, creamy nature of the avocado went perfectly with the spicy kick of the chicken. I wish I could even try to make these at home but I know they wouldn’t even come close 😉

Chicken empanadas

Chicken empanadas

So much delicious

So much delicious

Coincidentally, my favorite tapa by far was the last one we were served and I am very glad because I love ending my meal with the best bites. It was the coca del dia which was a flatbread of some sort topped with truffled goat cheese and arugula. Now for those of you who have been reading for a while, you know that I LOVE truffle anything and goat cheese is most definitely my favorite kind of cheese so this dish was a home run for me. I can’t really even describe the flavors other than to say that it was a mixture of my favorite things in one dish and I think that whomever at Barcelona came up with that tapa is a complete genius.

It's like they knew I was coming

It’s like they knew I was coming

It was a fantastic meal and I am so happy that I was finally able to share my favorite restaurant with Dan. There are still SO many dishes that I can’t wait to try at Barcelona so I know that we will be back very soon!

One Response to “Barcelona Wine Bar, Part Dos”

  1. Caitlin October 2, 2014 at 9:21 am #

    yay barcelona! their bread is such magic and i can only go to that restaurant when i am prepared to eat all the carbs, hahaha. all their coca del dias are fab as is the spinach chickpea tapa – i adore it! next time you are there you must must must get the wine flight that contains the red “cesca vicent”. it’s truly one of my favorite red wines in the world and i don’t have many i give that honor to! i’m so glad you love barcelona so much and had such a nice time!

Leave a Reply

