Five Favorite Workouts

29 Oct

Although some people enjoy Wednesdays, I think that they are kind of annoying. They are a tease that you are still pretty close to Monday and far enough away from Friday that you can’t really get excited about it yet. My favorite day is Thursday because the end is actually in sight, unless of course I have to work that Saturday and then the end of the week feels like it is never in sight. Well that’s enough ranting for today so let’s get on to the meat of this post. My current five favorite workouts all involve some form of cardio but I like to incorporate strength training into my workout too which is pretty new for me.

True story bro

True story bro

  • My current favorite workout is the elliptical for 45+/- minutes followed by weights at the gym. I enjoy this especially in the morning because all it involves is driving my sleepy self to the gym and getting on that machine. By the time I’m done with that I’m usually awake enough to put together some type of repertoire of weight training, my favorite being bicep curls.
Those are some elliptical and weights calories right there

Those are some elliptical and weights calories right there

  • If I’m not making it to the gym in the morning or if I’m working out late at night, my go-to workout has been Jillian Michael’s Kickboxing Fastfix. I have mentioned it in previous posts but it is a serious full body workout and I love it. There are three 20 minute circuits and I usually do two of those on any given night. It definitely leaves me sweating and its easy enough to complete in an apartment’s living room.
  • When I’m feeling particularly ambitious, I like to pull out Dan’s set of Insanity DVDs and do the Pure Cardio workout. It’s different from the rest of the Insanity workouts in that it doesn’t involve too much repetition which is boring to me and it is also very quick and definitely gets the job done.
That is NOT a joke

That is NOT a joke

  • If I’m at the gym but I have more time than to just do the elliptical, I like to do a mixture of running and the Stairmaster. I try to complete a mile or so on the treadmill which helps to warm me up and then I move on to the Stairmaster which is my nemesis but I find that it makes me sweat like nothing else. My legs are literally shaking by the end and I have only recently been able to get up to 30 minutes on it but it is one of the most effective workouts I have done.
This was such a proud moment for me

This was such a proud moment for me

  • Lastly, if I’m feeling tired but I still want to get my heart rate up I LOVE to go on a walk around town. I usually try to complete around three miles and I will go alone or with Dan but there is nothing like taking in the scenery and getting some fresh air. I follow my walks up with some abs and arms work at home.
There is nothing more peaceful to me than this view :)

There is nothing more peaceful to me than this view 🙂

That is all for today guys and I hope you all have a great hump day!

One Response to “Five Favorite Workouts”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Workout Wednesday: My Favorite Workout Videos | The Deviled Egg Wears Prada - January 21, 2015

    […] been wanting to share some of my favorite workout videos. I know a while ago I shared a post about my five favorite workouts overall but lately due to time constraints, I have found myself relying quite a bit on workout videos at […]

Leave a Reply

