Weekend Getaway to Newport, RI: Part Two

14 Nov

Happy Friday! I’m excited to share with you guys the rest of our trip to Newport. It seems like we fit in SO much stuff in a little bit of time (my usual style).

After we had checked into our hotel, we got ready for dinner and headed over to The Mooring Seafood Kitchen & Bar for dinner. Neither of us were extremely hungry so we decided to just split a few appetizers. I started off with a Newport Storm Hurricane Amber Ale which was very refreshing and not as heavy as I thought it would be.

Sometimes a beer is just what you need

Sometimes a beer is just what you need

As for the food, we wanted ALL the seafood on that particular evening. We ordered the clam chowder which was so creamy and full of huge chunks of clam. I never order clam chowder but I knew I had to try it since we were right on the ocean.

Bowl of creamy deliciousness

Bowl of creamy deliciousness

We also had the Bag of Doughnuts and those were my absolute favorite. They were huge seafood fritters with a lot of seafood and very little breading which isn’t something you get very often.

That sauce on the side was heavenly

That sauce on the side was heavenly

We also shared the Surf and Turf sliders which were steak sliders topped with lobster meat so obviously those were perfection and I wish we had more of those because two were definitely not enough.

The presentation was amazing

The presentation was amazing

After dinner, it was still pretty early so we headed over to Brick Alley Pub to watch some football and have a drink. Dan went with Yuengling and I was craving something salty so I decided on a dirty martini which was SO good.

Those olives though :)

Those olives though 🙂

There was also a hilarious sign in the bathroom that I HAD to share with you guys.

Hilarious

Hilarious

We headed back to the hotel to catch up on some of our TV shows on my laptop and get a good night’s sleep which was VERY needed after a crazy weekend. I woke up very refreshed the next day and couldn’t wait to explore more of Newport. We started our day by sitting outside on the grounds of our hotel for a little while which was so peaceful and beautiful.

It was the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at.

It was the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at.

It was a perfect day

It was a perfect day

It was still a little early for lunch so I went to another spot that Caitlin had recommended, Keen-Wah Superfood Eatery. After the martini and the beer the night before, I was craving some green juice. I had the Green Lemonade and I drank it SO fast because it was amazing. We also had to try the deviled eggs because hello, name of this blog, and they are my favorite.

I'm going to try to replicate this at home - romaine lettuce, green apples, and lemon, SO easy

I’m going to try to replicate this at home – romaine lettuce, green apples, and lemon, SO easy

These were so fresh and unique

These were so fresh and unique

We walked around and did a little bit of shopping, mostly Christmas related, before deciding we couldn’t wait any longer for lunch. We headed back over to Brick Alley Pub and our experience was nothing short of amazing. We started with the nachos which several people had recommended to us and they were perfect, with so much cheese and a lot of jalapeños which Dan was very excited about.

There were chips buried under all that, I promise

There were chips buried under all that, I promise

I had the Lobster Reuben which was pure genius because who even thinks of something that amazing? Dan had the Corned Beef Reuben. Both of our sandwiches were SO stuffed and so tasty. I can’t wait to go back there because there are about ten different things I want to try.

SO much lobster!

SO much lobster!

We did a little bit more shopping and then we ended our day with a trip to Newport Storm Brewery. Dan had never been to a brewery before he was very excited. We had such a great time and I can honestly say that I enjoyed every single beer that I tried. My favorite was definitely the Winter Porter because I really enjoy a nice winter beer.

I was obsessed with these glasses, and we got to take them home!

I was obsessed with these glasses, and we got to take them home!

It was a perfect end to our trip to Newport and I’m so glad I was able to share it with you guys!

2 Responses to “Weekend Getaway to Newport, RI: Part Two”

  1. Clare Sullivan November 15, 2014 at 9:55 am #

    Hi Shawna,

    Clare here from Newport Storm. I wanted to thank you for your amazing review and blog! We are so happy that you guys enjoyed your time here in Newport. Feel free to come back anytime 🙂

    Have a great weekend, cheers!
    Clare, PR & Events Coordinator

    PS- the bag of donuts at The Mooring are my fave too!

  2. Caitlin November 19, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

    I don’t know if I have ever mentioned Brick Alley Pub on my blog, but it is one of my fam’s fave places to eat in Newport. Their drinks aren’t “fancy” but i love the salad bar and they prepare the seafood sooooo well. I have never been to the Newport Storm brewery but will have to try to get there on a future trip. I’m glad you liked Keenwah, they didn’t have the deviled eggs last time I was there, but I did get to go there before the Newport Wine Fest and it sure helped balance out all that wine 😉

Leave a Reply

