Lucky

7 Jan

Happy 2015! So instead of doing a post on my resolutions for this year, I decided to reflect on the things that I feel especially lucky for having, particularly since I have been feeling very blessed lately. I don’t usually make resolutions because I like to try to focus on bettering myself as a whole, not just certain aspects of myself. Don’t get me wrong, I have so much respect for those who are able to make a resolution (losing weight, quitting smoking, etc.) and stick to it, but I would rather just work on being better overall.

Sounds good to me!

Sounds good to me!

I am lucky… that I am marrying the most wonderful man in the world this year. I can’t say enough how great Dan is and although it’s easy to take him for granted sometimes, I have been reflecting quite a bit lately on just how wonderful he is. This past Sunday, I went out to run a wedding errand with Alex and Carlee, and I came home to a surprise party congratulating me on my new job (more on that later). A ton of our friends were over and everyone contributed food and drinks and it was wonderful. It was so special to be able to celebrate this accomplishment with the people I love and it was even more wonderful that Dan was able to put the whole thing together.

Seriously the cutest ever

Seriously the cutest ever

No words for this.

No words for this.

I am lucky… to have the best friends and family that a person could ever ask for. I have been able to spend a lot of time with my friends lately and it has been so great. There is nothing more important in life than surrounding yourself with good people and I am incredibly blessed to have been able to do that.

Some New Year's Eve fun

Some New Year’s Eve fun

Love these ladies :)

Love these ladies 🙂

A fabulous drink enjoyed at Kate and Jason's apartment on Sunday night.. love spending time with them!

A fabulous drink enjoyed at Kate and Jason’s apartment on Sunday night.. love spending time with them!

I am lucky… to have a body which is healthy and forgives me when I indulge during the holidays. Prior to this holiday season, I had been doing a pretty good job of exercising at least four times a week and watching what I ate but the holidays came and led to very little time for exercise and some unhealthy food choices. I feel blessed that I am able to hop right back on the exercise train with no issues and I am already seeing positive changes.

Today's healthy breakfast: egg sandwich on a sandwich thin with avocado and salsa

Today’s healthy breakfast: egg sandwich on a sandwich thin with avocado and salsa

I am lucky… to be able to enjoy such fabulous meals at great local restaurants as often as I can. I have definitely appreciated local businesses much more in 2014 than I have in the past and for that I am thankful. I love supporting local restaurants and trying all different kinds of food. In fact, Dan and I had a date night last night at Barcelona in West Hartford (one of my faves) and we enjoyed so many amazing tapas such as crispy pigs head and some of the best Brussels sprouts ever.

Every restaurant should have wine flights!

Every restaurant should have wine flights!

YUMMMMM

YUMMMMM

Crispy pigs head, such perfection

Crispy pigs head, such perfection

My first time having crepes, not sure how I lived without them. SO DELICIOUS

My first time having crepes, not sure how I lived without them. SO DELICIOUS

I am lucky… that I will be starting a new job in February. I will be with the same company but will be taking on a different role in a different department. I am looking forward to the challenge and to be able to learn something new. One of the biggest upsides of this new job is that I will have much better hours and no more Saturdays!

I hope you guys have enjoyed my reflections and I hope you can reflect on some things that make you feel lucky.

Leave a Reply

