Workout Wednesday: My Favorite Workout Videos

21 Jan

Happy Wednesday! These past few days have been crazy since I am starting my new job on Monday (a week early!) and the wedding planning has been very hectic. For a while now, I have been wanting to share some of my favorite workout videos. I know a while ago I shared a post about my five favorite workouts overall but lately due to time constraints, I have found myself relying quite a bit on workout videos at home. Also, the recent frigid weather has made it nearly impossible to get up in the morning and drive to the gym. Surprisingly enough, I have been able to find at least a small amount of time each day to get in a workout but I justify it by including it as part of the “wedding planning” (LOL).

1. Jillian Michael’s Kickboxing Fastfix

jillian michaels kickbox

I absolutely loveee this video and it honestly is probably my favorite ever. It combines a good variation of cardio kickboxing with strength training. It is divided into three 20 minute workouts, with each one focusing on a different area of the body (upper body, lower body, abs) and you can either do just one, two, or all three. To be completely honest I usually do the upper body segment (my favorite one) followed by ten minutes of my own ab work since I usually don’t have a full forty minutes set aside for exercise each day.

2. Your Shape: Fitness Evolved 2012 for Xbox Kinect

This “game” is filled with so many different types of workouts that there is literally something for everyone. It has cardio aerobics, dancing, kickboxing, yoga, etc. The only reason that I don’t use this for my workouts as much as before is because the sensor on my Xbox Kinect seems to interfere with the sensor on my Polar Fitness watch. You obviously need to own a Kinect to use this as a workout tool but if you do, I definitely recommend it, if only just for the variety it provides.

3. Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred

30 day shred

As you can tell, I am a big supporter of Jillian Michael’s videos. The main reason being the fact that she gives a full body workout in a matter of twenty minutes. This video is no exception and I love how exhausted and sweaty I am by the end of this video. There are three different levels and although I have only done level one, I plan on starting level two this week and if level one is any indication, it will probably leave me dead-tired. This video uses three different circuits which have 3 minutes of strength training, 2 minutes of cardio, and 1 minute of abs. I absolutely love this set up and I wish all of her videos were like this.

4. Insanity Pure Cardio

I will fully admit that I have to be feeling reallllly good to pop this DVD in because it is very difficult. It is my favorite Insanity video because there is no repetition but it also means that there are no breaks. This makes it another video which can be completed in just under 30 minutes which is perfect for when I have very little time. The rest of the Insanity videos take at least 45-60 minutes to complete and I don’t usually have time for that. There isn’t really much to explain about this one except for the fact that it really is pure cardio, including things like burpees, jump squats, high knees, etc.

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and I recommend any of these videos for a great at-home workout.

What are your favorite workout videos?

Do you prefer working out at home or at a gym?

Leave a Reply

