Trade It Up Tuesday: Snow Day

27 Jan

Happy Snow Day everyone! I’m currently snowed in here and I am obviously loving it. It has been so nice to just relax and watch Netflix and do absolutely nothing which I know sounds completely lazy but I swear I have been at least minimally productive with cleaning and working out and such.

Yes. So much yes.

Yes. So much yes.

The view outside of my apartment this morning

The view outside of my apartment this morning

I would not trade… the TWO snow days in the past few days. I was supposed to work on Saturday (my last day in my previous position) and lucky for me, work was closed due to the snow. I started my new job yesterday and I think it is going to be the perfect fit for me. I am SO excited. Since we had just started and there wasn’t much for us to do, our new boss sent myself and my fellow trainee home at noon to beat the storm. We are also closed today due to Blizzard Juno/Colbie which is great because it gives me bonus time to study for the exam that I have to take for the new job.

I would not trade… how I spent each of the snow days/nights. I will be honest in that I spent most of Saturday morning/afternoon catching up on sleep. Jenna came over to hang out for the evening while Dan and Robbie went to plow and we ate Chinese food and watched a movie and drank ALL the wine (oh 90+ Cellars, how I love you). After the movie, we both had a serious craving for dessert so obviously we braved the storm to walk to Plan B (in our sweatpants, don’t judge) for some fabulous drinks and dessert.

I will admit that this wasn't the best choice to go along with a sweet dessert

I will admit that this wasn’t the best choice to go along with a sweet dessert

"The B Cup".. basically a chocolate cake filled with chocolate mousse.. it was superb

“The B Cup”.. basically a chocolate cake filled with chocolate mousse.. it was superb

Jenna's apple bourbon cheesecake which was heaven in a mason jar

Jenna’s apple bourbon cheesecake which was heaven in a mason jar

Last night's view of Priam wine and Netflix... perfection

Last night’s view of Priam wine and Netflix… perfection

I would trade… the lack of exercise this weekend given the copious amounts of free time that I had. I feel like I spent an absurd amount of time stuffing my face (Chinese food, pizza, dessert) and drinking wine which made me feel very guilty about the fact that I didn’t work out at all. I did have a lot of fun and I got right back on the workout train last night with a tough Jillian Michaels video so I’m trying not to let the guilt get to me.

This pizza from Harry's and the 90+ Cellars wine was an amazing start to the weekend but was not guilt-free by any means

This pizza from Harry’s and the 90+ Cellars wine was an amazing start to the weekend but was not guilt-free by any means

I would not trade… a spontaneous Sunday night spent at Kate and Jason’s apartment. They texted us that evening to invite us over and since we had dinner cooking in the crockpot and our Sunday chores were done, we headed right over there. Jason made us delicious cocktails and we watched the SAG awards while enjoying some snacks. We ended up bringing over the Crockpot Lasagna soup that we had made to share with everyone which was a great idea since we would have ended up with an absurd amount of leftovers that would never have been eaten. The soup was amazing and perfect for a cozy night in between snow storms with friends.

I have no idea what was in that drink but man was it tasty :)

I have no idea what was in that drink but man was it tasty 🙂

As you can see, life is pretty wonderful right now and there aren’t many things that I would trade. I wish it was always like that but I’m going to enjoy all of the great things that are happening and hope that life continues to work in my favor 🙂

Is there anything that you would/wouldn’t trade right now?

How do you like to spend your snow days?

One Response to “Trade It Up Tuesday: Snow Day”

  1. Caitlin January 28, 2015 at 10:56 am #

    Thanks so much for the 90+ mentions in this post! Love walking to Plan B in the sweatpants – it’s so nice now to live within walking dist of bars. I walked to one last night in leggings and it was so fun!! I feel you on the guilt over not working out on a snow day, despite free time. I had a lot of time yest to work out but just did a 20 minute series and then called it quits. I SO wasn’t feeling it. And I spent 4 hours at the bar…yup. But I’ll get back to it today and not every day is a snow day! Keep on keepin on!

Leave a Reply

