That Wild and Wonderful Weekend

3 Feb

This past weekend was completely crazy and awesome and I loved every second of it. Considering the fact that I woke up Friday morning with the beginnings of what is turning out to be the worst cold I have had in a while, I definitely rallied and had a great time.

Friday night started out with a quiet dinner for just myself and Dan at Barcelona in West Hartford. I anticipated the rest of the night was going to be crazy so it was nice to have a little piece of time to ourselves. Dinner was amazing as it always is at Barcelona and I’m pretty sure I ate almost an entire loaf of bread myself.

Whipped sheep's cheese (aka everything)

Whipped sheep’s cheese (aka everything)

Eggplant Pappardelle in manchego broth with spinach (Dan's favorite)

Eggplant Pappardelle in manchego broth with spinach (Dan’s favorite)

Fingerling potatoes topped with black garlic aioli

Fingerling potatoes topped with black garlic aioli

After dinner, we headed next door to Bartaco for a night out with my coworkers to celebrate myself and two other coworkers moving on to our new positions within the company. There were several margaritas consumed as well as some Jameson (ugh) and more tequila. It was SO wonderful to be able to celebrate with my coworkers and for Dan to meet them as well. We ended the night at the Diamond (obviously) and I didn’t wake up with too much of a headache on Saturday (although this was when the cold reared its ugly head) so it was definitely a win.

Bartaco's margarita.. way too good and way too strong ;)

Bartaco’s margarita.. way too good and way too strong 😉

My coworker Willca.. she's such a sweetheart!

My coworker Willca.. she’s such a sweetheart!

Saturday morning and afternoon was spent doing all kinds of errands in preparation for Super Bowl Sunday. We had to get them all done since we were spending Saturday night down in Mystic/Groton for Dan’s uncle Jimmy’s surprise 50th birthday party. It was held at the Mystic Marriott which was absolutely beautiful. Dan, his parents, his brother, and myself all stayed overnight so we would be able to enjoy ourselves and not have to drive almost an hour home. Dan and I arrived a couple of hours before the party and we were starving so we went down to the restaurant, Octagon, for some happy hour snacks. They were delicious and we are already planning a return trip for dinner.

The award winning Dragon chowder.. which had skate, lobster, and alligator in it.. AMAZING

The award winning Dragon chowder.. which had skate, lobster, and alligator in it.. AMAZING

Dan's grilled cheese sliders with tomato fondue.. I can't even begin to tell you how brilliant these were

Dan’s grilled cheese sliders with tomato fondue.. I can’t even begin to tell you how brilliant these were

The party itself was perfect and it was so great to be able to get to know Dan’s family even better. There were some delicious apps and desserts served, along with a chocolate fountain which was totally dangerous.

Fancy crudité display.. with brie.. I obviously destroyed that cheese platter

Fancy crudité display.. with brie.. I obviously destroyed that cheese platter

I want one of these in my home at all times

I want one of these in my home at all times

I also had the pleasure of finally meeting Colleen, who is Dan’s cousin’s girlfriend and she also grew up with Dan as well. I feel like we already knew each other so well since we had been “socially stalking” each other for a while. She was so sweet and fun and I’m looking forward to the next time we will get to hang out.

Classic pose :)

Classic pose 🙂

We woke up the next morning and had a delicious (albeit a little expensive) buffet breakfast at Octagon with Dan’s parents before heading to the Clinton Crossing Outlets where we picked up some Yankee Candles (4 for $44!) and my first watch ever from Fossil which wasn’t a planned purchase but I was obsessed with it and it was 50% off so I had no choice 😉

I'm completely in love with it

I’m completely in love with it

We headed home after that to clean and prepare for the Super Bowl. It was a nice, little gathering with a few people stopping by, exactly what we wanted. There was SO much food which meant lots of leftovers for me during yesterday’s snow day. Also, my Patriots won!!! It was a great end to a fantastic weekend and I wish I could do it all over again.

Buffalo chicken dip, stromboli, wings, garlic garlic dip, hummus, salsa, cheese and crackers... SO much yum

Buffalo chicken dip, stromboli, wings, garlic garlic dip, hummus, salsa, cheese and crackers… SO much yum

Leave a Reply

