Rooftop120 Blogger Event

3 Apr

Happy Friday everyone! I’m sorry I haven’t had time to write this week but Dan’s grandfather passed away on Monday and I honestly just didn’t feel like writing. It was much more important for me to be there for him during this awful time. I am back today and I am very excited to tell you guys about a wonderful event that I attended last night at the always-fabulous Rooftop120. It was their very first Blogger Event and I was delighted that I was able to attend.

As I walked into the lounge area, I was immediately greeted by this beautiful sight. I do have to say that I love the look of their lounge area just as much as the bar and it seems like a wonderful place to comfortably hang out with friends in a much quieter environment than the bar.

It was a perfect evening to spend up there.

It was a perfect evening to spend up there.

I do have to say that everyone that spoke to us including our waitress, B, was so nice and always making sure we were having a great time. I also had a nice chat with the owner who told me quite a great deal about the overall vision that they have for Rooftop120 and mainly about how they would like people to see it not just as a bar, but also as a delicious restaurant as well. I think his ideas are great and with the resourceful marketing team he has, those ideas will definitely take off.

It was a nice, little touch to have fruit offered to put in the prosecco

It was a nice, little touch to have fruit offered to put in the prosecco

They provided us with a nice little rundown of the evening including a menu of the dishes we would be tasting later. Everything we experienced throughout the night had a feel like there was quite a bit of thought put into it which was really special.

Once everyone had arrived, we headed into the dining room for the presentation by the Google certified speaker from 203 Marketing, George. I liked how his presentation was brief but very informative, especially for someone such as myself who has a lot of big plans for this blog but needed some guidance on a lot of those ideas. My biggest takeaway from his information was that it is very important to make sure all of the links and social media names match up so there is no confusion. This makes me think that it is important to create separate social media accounts for my blog so that I can really get a better feel for who I’m trying to market to, so stay tuned!.

I just can't get over how beautifully decorated the lounge was

I just can’t get over how beautifully decorated the lounge was

It was a small group that attended but I think that was beneficial because it wasn’t too crowded and there was a good amount of food for everyone. I finally had the chance to meet the adorable Kat from Penelope, Prosecco, and Pulitzer and she was just as fabulous as I had imagined. I also met Alycia from CT Eats Out, Wendy from CT Lifestyles, and Julie-Ann from JuliEdible. It was great to finally meet the people whose blogs I have been reading forever and one whose Instagram account makes me want to ditch my wedding diet and go on a food binge (ahem, Alycia!).

Let’s get on to the amazing food! On a side note, it was great to be in a room where everyone was taking pictures of the food and it wasn’t just me for once 🙂 We started out with the Jerked Spice Tuna which was topped with tropical fruit salsa and accompanied by fried plantains. This tuna was so tasty and the flavors were incredible. It wasn’t something that I would ordinarily order for myself but now I know that those flavors are so good that it will help me to branch out my ordering options.

This dish made me think of summer.

This dish made me think of summer.

Next up was the Aji Chili Rubbed Steak, which was on top of a piece of grilled zucchini. This steak was melt-in-your-mouth delicious and I could have eaten that all night. The sauce on top was unreal and I wanted to put that on top of everything.

The presentation of the food was also superb.

The presentation of the food was also superb.

The next item was most definitely my second favorite of the evening. The Red Beet and Goat Cheese Bon Bons were entirely up my alley and I absolutely love how the two flavors complemented each other. The bon bons were on top of a shaved fennel orange salad which went well with the stronger flavors of the beets and goat cheese. I think these would be a great addition to their regular menu.

This is making my stomach growl.

This is making my stomach growl.

My absolute favorite item of the evening (and I think a lot of the other attendees agreed with me) was the Soy Ginger-Marinated Avocado Halves which were filled with a tempura fried oyster and topped with a yuzu harissa aioli. The creamy avocado combined with the equally creamy oyster was mind-blowing. At this point, I believe I said that their head chef Dan was a complete genius. I would have never thought to put an avocado in a dish with an oyster but it was one of the best ideas ever.

Absolute perfection, I swear.

Absolute perfection, I swear.

Last but not least, we were able to sample one of my favorite bartender Tyler’s amazing martinis. I believe it was called 50 Shades of Glastonbury if I remember correctly. It was sweet and smooth and I tasted a lot of pineapple which again reminded me of summer 🙂 It was a perfect end to a wonderful event.

It was like a tropical dessert in a glass

It was like a tropical dessert in a glass

I hope that Rooftop120 has more of these types of events as I think it can only help to open patron’s eyes to the fact that it isn’t just a fun bar, but a fabulous restaurant as well.

I hope everyone has a safe and happy Passover/Easter weekend!

2 Responses to “Rooftop120 Blogger Event”

  1. john estrad April 6, 2015 at 4:49 pm #

    Thank you and i will make sure to try the soy ginger avocado halves

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 3 Reasons Why Rooftop 120 is a Must Visit | The Deviled Egg Wears Prada - May 27, 2016

    […] all about it! I have definitely mentioned Rooftop 120 in the past and I actually attended their very first blogger event but I can’t help but continue to gush about how great this place […]

Leave a Reply

