WIAW: Mother’s Day Weekend Eats

13 May

Happy hump day!! I went on a little blogging hiatus this past week because there was a lot going on and I simply just did not have time to write. I’m going to try to post once more this week but we shall see how that goes. (Side note: today is Dan and my 3 year anniversary! Yay!). I figured I would share some delicious eats from this past Mother’s Day weekend as well as a few fun photos too 🙂

Saturday was spent running around like crazy for most of the afternoon and then Dan drove me into Hartford to drop me off at the circus! I went with his sister, niece, grandparents, aunt, and cousin. It was a blast and actually it was my first time at the circus (except for the one at the Big E, for those of you who are local).

These guys were my favorite, so much character!

These guys were my favorite, so much character!

We didn’t really have dinner plans for Saturday evening so we reached out to Dan’s parents and they were definitely up for a nice evening out. Dan’s grandmother passed away last week so I think it was good for them to get out and have a little fun. We went to Market Grille and enjoyed a cheese plate to start. This was, hands down, the best and most visually pleasing cheese plate I have ever consumed. Since we filled up a little bit on the cheese plate, we all decided to go with salads as our entrees. I had the Grilled Yellow Fin Tuna salad and it was AMAZING!! This salad had the biggest chunks of melt in your mouth tuna that I have ever seen and tasted. Dan and his Dad had the Sliced Black Angus Steak salad and they were raving about the quality and size of the steak as well. It was a great meal.

Such perfection. I loved every single cheese on that plate.

Such perfection. I loved every single cheese on that plate.

Look at the size of those chunks of tuna! YUM

Look at the size of those chunks of tuna! YUM

Dan's steak salad... That is an entire steak!

Dan’s steak salad… That is an entire steak!

Mother’s Day itself was spent hopping around the state a little bit but would you expect anything less from us? We started the day at Dan’s cousin and her husband’s home for a lovely outdoor brunch. There was quite the spread of delicious brunch food from bacon egg cups to shrimp cocktail to all the carbs one could ask for!

Some brunch with a side of sangria, don't mind if I do!

Some brunch with a side of sangria, don’t mind if I do!

Dan and his mom.. so adorable!

Dan and his mom.. so adorable!

We spent a couple of hours there and then headed off to Cassidy Hill Vineyard to meet my parents to celebrate the day with them. We had quite an assortment of cheese, meats, and crackers and enjoyed some yummy wine while basking in the toasty sun. I went home with a little wine buzz and a whole lot of sunburn. It was a great end to a successful Mother’s Day weekend!

Wine and cheese. My two essentials in life.

Wine and cheese. My two essentials in life.

Leave a Reply

