Five Things Friday: Can’t Beat it? Join It!

31 Jul

Happy Friday y’all! I hope everyone had a wonderful week, or at least better than mine! Not that it was all that bad and I really have nothing to complain about but yesterday was just awful, including the fact that I spent a total of 2.5 hours in traffic to and from work. But putting my complaints aside, I’m here to share a few random thoughts with you guys.

1. I couldn’t beat the heat, so I joined it! The title of this post is appropriately named because even though it has been very hot and humid the past week or so, I decided that it was a good idea last Thursday evening to take a Bikram yoga class. I felt like I needed a little detox before the weekend and I definitely sweated everything out! It was the most uncomfortable I have felt in a class since my very first one about two years ago. I am glad I finished it and I did feel better once I cooled down a bit.

Loving my new yoga capris from TJ Maxx!

Loving my new yoga capris from TJ Maxx!

I was pretty happy with that number since I wasn't as active with my poses as usual.

I was pretty happy with that number since I wasn’t as active with my poses as usual.

2. French fries are my current food obsession. I have been enjoying my fair share of them during the past week including an amazing serving of poutine at the Connecticut Wine Festival this past Saturday and some Red Robin fries which we enjoyed at home the other night with our BLTA sandwiches. I think I have been loving them so much because the heat always makes me want carbs like crazy but luckily my workouts have been excellent this week so I’m not feeling too guilty about the carb overload.

ALL the cheese things

ALL the cheese things

I could eat this meal every single day

I could eat this meal every single day

3. This weekend is filled with all of the birthday celebrations! I’m SO looking forward to finally getting to see Alex after she has been away a bunch this summer and celebrate her birthday which was this past Monday. On Sunday we are celebrating another good friend’s birthday in Massachusetts which should be so much fun as I’m loving little day trips right now.

These are some gems, let me tell ya :)

These are some gems, let me tell ya 🙂

4. Who else was completed thrilled that Kaitlin picked Shawn on The Bachelorette? I definitely feel like she picked the guy with whom she had the best overall connection. I think they are the cutest couple and I’m enjoying following her on SnapChat and their adorable Instagram photos too.

SO cute

SO cute

5. I can’t believe tomorrow is August 1st! I know I’m reiterating what everyone else has been saying but this summer is flying by and our wedding is rapidly approaching. We have a lot to do and very little time to do it so I can’t promise you guys that I will be blogging a ton but I will try my best to post at least once a week.

True story

True story

I hope everyone has a safe and fun weekend!

Leave a Reply

