Sayulita – South Glastonbury, CT

13 Aug

Happy Thursday all! It’s my Friday today as I took tomorrow off to get some things done and because we are heading up to Boston for the Red Sox game with my aunt and my cousins tomorrow afternoon once Dan gets out of work. Needless to say I’m pretty excited and I can’t wait for this work day to fly by!

Today I wanted to share with you guys a delicious meal that we recently enjoyed this past Friday at a new-ish restaurant in town with Melissa, Alex, and Dan. The restaurant is called Sayulita and it is located in South Glastonbury, CT. As you can probably tell by the name, it is a Mexican restaurant with a huge focus on unique dishes and local ingredients.

The ladies!

The ladies!

There was a little bit of a wait so we started the evening off in the bar with some cocktails. I enjoyed the skinny margarita which was light and not too sweet. The service was excellent all evening and they advised us of a half hour wait but I don’t think we even had to wait more than fifteen minutes! Another plus was that we were able to sit outside. Dining outdoors has recently become one of my favorite summer activities so this made me very happy.

A clear representation of Friday night

A clear representation of Friday night

We were all pretty hungry so we decided to start off with some guacamole and salsa. The guac was very flavorful and came with some plantain chips as well which were a nice and unique addition to the appetizer. The salsa was just the right amount of chunky and was not too watery which is always a concern of mine at Mexican restaurants.

So delish!

So delish!

As for my meal, I wanted to try as many different things as possible so I chose three different tacos to enjoy. I had the lobster and black truffle taco, which I have had before, and it was just as amazing as I had remembered. As you guys know, I love truffle anything and lobster is my favorite food so naturally this was my favorite taco ever. I also had the citrus braised pork belly taco, which was unique in that it was definitely more sweet than savory and I definitely enjoyed that. The third taco I had was the fried green tomatillo which was absolute perfection. I loved the addition of the jalapeno hummus and that combined with the tomato and corn salsa provided an explosion of flavor.

The presentation was great as well!

The presentation was great as well!

I had assumed that everyone would be too full for dessert but when asked if we wanted to see a dessert menu, Dan enthusiastically said “yes!” We chose the sayulita churros which came with vanilla ice cream, dulce de leche, and chocolate sauce. These were wonderful and the vanilla ice cream was probably my favorite part as it definitely hit the spot on the warm summer evening.

Heaven.

Heaven.

It was a delicious meal and I definitely recommend that all of my locals try Sayulita as soon as possible! It is very evident that the owners have put a lot of time and thought into making the restaurant a very unique and enjoyable place to have a meal.

Have a great Thursday!

Leave a Reply

