Thinking Out Loud Thursday: I’m Back!

5 Nov

Hello everyone! It feels so good to finally have some time to write again after all of the wedding insanity as well as the trying to catch up after the wedding and honeymoon. (PS. I have a husband now!!!) I am going to be recapping the rehearsal dinner/wedding/honeymoon little by little, as not to bombard you guys with too much at one time. Today I’m going to recap the rehearsal dinner as well as touch on a few random thoughts inside of my head.

Our rehearsal dinner was nothing short of wonderful. My in-laws did an amazing job planning everything from the food down to the centerpieces on the tables. It was held at Tower Ridge Country Club in Simsbury, CT, which is the same spot as our wedding venue. It was perfect to be able to rehearse quickly and then just go right into relaxing with our closest family and friends. For anyone who has not taken part in a rehearsal, it is quite awkward and I was happy when that part was over, to be totally honest.

Each centerpiece had a cute little saying on it!

Each centerpiece had a cute little saying on it!

Dinner was all barbecue style food including my special request for potato salad (DUH). It was important to us that we had nothing which was like what we would be eating the next night at the wedding. The food was amazing and the room in which the dinner took place was gorgeous, with big windows overlooking the golf course.

That potato salad was amazing

That potato salad was amazing

So many selfies, so little time

So many selfies, so little time

With the beautiful Jenna (and wine, of course) :)

With the beautiful Jenna (and wine, of course) 🙂

After the dinner was over, most of us parted our separate ways, including myself and Dan which was definitely a tearful yet excited goodbye. My girls and I headed back to our hotel suite to spend the night hanging out together before the big day. It was so special to be able to spend time with all of my bridesmaids and just enjoy each others company. I gave them their “thank you” gifts which included matching robes (to wear the next day) ordered from Etsy (just search “bridesmaid robes”), a notepad (with their initials on it), bottle of wine, and birthstone earrings. They surprised me with a thoughtful scrapbook which they put together along with some adorable mason jar glasses. I also opening my wedding gift from Dan which was a Nikon Coolpix camera which I absolutely love (I gave him a watch which matched his tux perfectly). We broke out some wine, ordered some pizza and made mac and cheese, and just spent the night relaxing and chatting away. It was a perfect evening and such a good precursor to the wonderful wedding day ahead.

This is probably my favorite selfie of all time, all of the ladies plus Tyler and Dan

This is probably my favorite selfie of all time, all of the ladies plus Tyler and Dan

My ladies opening their gifts, stored in their personalized tote bags :)

My ladies opening their gifts, stored in their personalized tote bags 🙂

These glasses hold so much truth

These glasses hold so much truth

Back to reality, I have a few random thoughts to share with you guys as well.

I am loving the fall weather this year. In fact, it has been unseasonably warm the past few days and I am just itching for the chill in the air to return. Part of it may be due to the assortment of sweaters I recently purchased from Old Navy (oops), but I’m also excited for the Thanksgiving and Christmas festivities, as this is my favorite time of year!

One of my purchases

One of my purchases

This one will go perfectly with leggings!

This one will go perfectly with leggings!

I’m very proud of the fact that I have been able to jump right back into working out with high intensity after having a full two weeks off. I’m not going to say that I wasn’t a little out of shape after totally pigging out during the wedding and especially the honeymoon but I can’t even begin to tell you how good that first workout back felt. I’m happy to say that I am back in a routine of exercising about four times per week, mainly doing Jillian Michaels videos at home.

One thing that we cannot seem to catch up on, is the number of shows on our DVR which we need to watch. Even with the large amount of time which was freed up by not having to do wedding stuff, it still seems like the list of shows is never-ending. I refuse to drop any shows so it just seems like we will be playing catch up until the shows go on their winter hiatus for the holidays. I will say that we are absolutely loving the new show, Quantico, on ABC. It is so suspenseful and I am totally hooked!

My life right now

My life right now

Phew, that was a long post, but I hope you guys have enjoyed. I will be back next week with another wedding recap and hopefully a review or two! Have a happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

