Turkey Day Weekend Recap

30 Nov

Happy Monday all! I hope you all had the absolute best Thanksgiving! My entire weekend was wonderful and filled with family, friends, lots of food, and so much laughter! Today I figured I would do a little “sentence (or two) per picture” action to share a little bit about my weekend.

Wednesday evening, we went out with some of our closest friends to the Diamond (obviously) for some drinks and shenanigans. I had so much fun catching up with my ladies!

ladies pre turkey day

After all of the wine, a big meal was exactly what was needed on Thanksgiving. I could not wait to dig into that turkey! (*A little side note: We eat three Thanksgiving dinners every year so when I say “big meal”, I mean “three big meals”!

turkey on turkey day

Meal number one was at my Grandma’s house and our contribution to the meal were these Brussels Sprouts Gratin. They were delish!

turkey day grandmas

We took our annual Christmas card picture and this year, Dan was finally able to be in it now that he is officially a Davis (ha!).

Christmas card picture

Our next meal was at Dan’s parents house with his family and we contributed our famous mashed potatoes to this meal. I don’t have a recipe for this as it is my own but I will definitely share it soon as they are a big hit!

turkey day dans parents

I didn’t take any pictures at our third dinner at my parent’s house since I was definitely loving the wine at that point and really just enjoyed spending time with them and Dan. After dinner we headed to Alex’s house and did a little late night Thanksgiving night/Black Friday shopping. We didn’t last too long and we soon headed back to Alex’s to get some sleep.

On Saturday, we participated in Small Business Saturday and visited the Coventry Regional Farmers Market Holiday Maker’s Market in Willimantic. We started off with an amazing lunch at Cafemantic where I thoroughly enjoyed my roasted beets and smoked salmon salad. It was just what I needed after so much food the previous two days.

cafemantic

The maker’s market itself was adorable and I loved the cozy atmosphere of the space in which it was held.

makers market

Later that afternoon, we attended our friend’s Glen and Isabel’s son Levi’s 2nd birthday party which was construction-themed and it was adorable! Isabel is so creative and does such a good job with her parties 🙂

Levis bday cake

We did a ton of decorating for Christmas and I will definitely be sharing pictures of our decor in another post since it’s pretty extensive.

Christmas lights

We also got our tree which I wasn’t planning on this weekend but Dan’s firehouse sold a ton of them and I wanted to make sure we got a good one! I think it looks perfect!

Christmas tree

We ended the weekend with these delicious spinach lasagna rolls from Skinnytaste, some tasty frozen yogurt (with more toppings than yogurt). Dan fell asleep early while I stayed up and watched my poor Patriots lose a tough one. Besides that, it was a perfect end to the perfect Turkey Day weekend!

lasagna rolls

froyo

patriots

I hope you all have a great Monday and that your week flies by!

Leave a Reply

