Christmas Survey!

23 Dec

I can’t believe Christmas is only two sleeps away! I’m doing as many Christmassy (not a word – I know) things as possible and I’m feeling quite festive this week as well. There is a Christmas survey going around the blog world and once I saw Sarah do it today, I knew I had to participate as well!

Christmas at alex's house

Eggnog or hot chocolate?

I was strictly a hot chocolate girl, until this year when I purchased some vanilla egg nog on a whim and added some homemade kahlua that we received as a Hanukkah gift and I thoroughly enjoyed it. However, hot chocolate is still my jam.

Christmas hot cocoa

Multi-color tree lights or white?

Multi-color! I know my girl Natasha will disagree with me on this one, but I think that multi-colored lights are the prettiest and that is what I’ve always grown up with so I’m sticking to it 🙂

Christmas lights

Do you hang mistletoe?

No. I’ve always meant to, but I don’t remember actually ever seeing while I’m out and about shopping.

When do you decorate for Christmas?

I start immediately on Black Friday and it unfolds from there. We usually don’t get our tree until the following weekend but it seemed like everyone was in a hurry to get the holiday season underway this year so we just went with that and got ours right after Thanksgiving as well.

Christmas Decor 2015

Christmas decor 2015 2

What is your favorite holiday dish?

I would definitely have to say it would be my Grandma’s homemade steak sandwiches that we have for dinner on Christmas Eve. They are amazing! And my Mom’s Bloody Mary’s on Christmas morning. I can’t really choose.

christmas 2014 bloody selfie

Last year’s Bloody Mary! Can’t wait to enjoy one this year

Favorite holiday memory?

I don’t know if I can pick a specific holiday memory but I always find it fun to take our annual Christmas card picture at my Grandma’s house. It’s such an attempt at organized chaos, and Dan was able to be in the picture this year (benefits of getting hitched!).

What’s on your Christmas wish list?

Since we just got married and got a ton of wonderful wedding presents, I didn’t have a lot on my list this year. I did develop more of an interest in makeup this year so I’ve asked for some of that as well as gift cards. I also would really love a FitBit but we shall see what Santa brings!

Do you open gifts on Christmas Eve?

I am a purist about this as Dan and I always wait until Christmas morning. We do open a few gifts that are given to us at my Godmother’s house but besides that, it’s always Christmas morning.

How do you decorate your tree?

We have multi-colored lights and an assortment of ornaments that I have picked up over the last few years and some really fun ones that my Mom has gotten us, such as a margarita and a cruise ship.

Christmas tree2

Snow: love it or hate it?

I love love love it! I wish it wasn’t so warm this year (it’s supposed to be almost 70 degrees tomorrow!) and I’m hoping we get a lot of snow in January and February.

Real or fake tree?

Real. This is not a negotiable topic with me, just ask my father. 🙂

Favorite holiday tradition?

It would have to be a tie between our annual Christmas party and going to look at the amazing lights on Felt Road in South Windsor. Our party is always SO much fun and this year was no exception, mainly due to a certain someone’s grab bag gift which had everyone practically rolling on the floor in laughter. The lights on Felt Road are insane and I encourage everyone who is local to check them out!

Christmas party 2015

Felt Road lights

Favorite Christmas carol?

This is an impossible question to say the least. My Spotify Christmas playlist that I made has 70 songs on it so I’m not sure I can choose one. I am a huge fan of “Do You Hear What I Hear?” specifically Carrie Underwood’s rendition.

Favorite Christmas movie?

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, I’m totally obsessed.

Christmas morning tradition?

Dan and I usually set an alarm to get an early start on our busy day. We open presents here and then head to my parent’s house to open gifts there and enjoy our bloody mary’s. We then head to my Grandma’s house for lunch and then to Dan’s parents house after that.

Do you write Christmas cards?

YES! This year was fun because we used one of our wedding photos and I also included a picture of Billi and Bella.

I hope you guys have enjoyed reading this as much as I have enjoyed filling it out. It was probably one of my favorite posts to write because I just love Christmas that much. If I don’t get a chance to check in tomorrow, I wish you all a very Merry Christmas!

 

Leave a Reply

