Blue Apron Saves the Day!

27 Jan

Have you ever had one of those weeks where things were just absolutely insane and you just craved some kind of stability? Yes? No? Well that was last week for us. I won’t go into too many details but we have been house-hunting quite a bit lately and last week was just crazy with some of that. I was craving some kind of normalcy since we are never usually too busy during the work week. Well, Blue Apron provided that for me with their incredible home-cooked meals.

blue apron logo

Blue Apron is a meal delivery service which provides pre-measured portions of fresh and local ingredients with detailed recipes which are very easy to follow. The prep time is about 30 minutes per meal. I had seen several bloggers review Blue Apron and was pretty interested in the concept and very excited to collaborate with them as well. It is honestly just as easy as it looks. They offer a two- or four-person plan, which averages out to just under $10 per person, per meal, for three meals. They have different meal choices each week and I chose three meals incorporating three different types of meat (they also offer vegetarian options!) so that we would have a good variety of meals that particular week. I’ve included a link to each recipe so you guys can attempt to recreate them if you should choose!

blue apron meal 1 part 1

Cod and Potato Brandade with Watermelon Radish Salad and Garlic Toasts

blue apron meal 1 part 2

blue apron meal 1 part 3

This dish was so delicious and pretty easy to make. For those who don’t know, as I did not either, brandade is a classic Mediterranean dish usually made with cod and mashed potatoes, baked gratin-style with garlic and olive oil. We honestly don’t eat enough fish at home since it’s hard to find it on sale so we were both very excited about this meal. It was very light but also comforting at the same time since there were mashed potatoes and garlic toasts involved as well. I also had never had a watermelon radish before and found that I enjoyed it even more than a regular radish.

Chicken Meatballs and Creamy Polenta with Tomato Sugo and Lacinato Kale

blue apron meal 2 part 1

blue apron meal 2 part 2

blue apron meal 2 part 3

Now this meal was completely uncharted territory for us. We have never cooked with ground chicken before and I honestly had no idea what polenta was before this meal. (Side note: it’s boiled cornmeal) The meatballs were pretty simple as was the polenta. This meal probably had the easiest prep of all three meals. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the spices in the meatballs as they incorporated ground fennel seed and I just can’t stand the taste of fennel. I absolutely loved the polenta and will be making that again as well as the tomato sugo on top. I’m a sucker for a good tomato sauce.

White Pizza with Baked Eggs & Arugula Brussels Sprout Salad

blue apron meal 3 part 1

blue apron meal 3 part 2

Anyone that knows Dan and I pretty well will understand why this was our absolute favorite meal. This may be one of best home-cooked meals we have ever had. We both love pizza and we will put eggs on just about anything. Throw in some Brussels sprouts and a little bit of garlic and we are happy campers. This was definitely the most tedious of the three meals to prepare and we had a tough time getting the dough to stretch out but the end result was so worth it. I told myself I would only have two slices since it was pretty decadent but I could not help myself to a third slice.

blue apron meal 3 part 3

We absolutely loved our first Blue Apron experience and we will definitely be returning customers. It isn’t too often that we cook together as usual one of us takes charge of a meal but it was so nice to be able to do something like this together. The ingredients were so fresh and I thought the flavors in each meal were incredible.

Blue Apron has also been kind enough to provide a little something for my wonderful readers!

My first 25 readers get two free meals with their first Blue Apron Boxredeem here!

I hope you guys enjoy and happy cooking!

I received the Blue Apron meals mentioned above complimentary. They were given to me in exchange for an honest review.  I was not compensated for this post and all thoughts and opinions are my own.

3 Responses to “Blue Apron Saves the Day!”

  1. Anne Ciccio January 27, 2016 at 9:30 am #

    I have been wanting to try this for some time. Your review might be my tipping point.

  2. Ron Costanza January 28, 2016 at 9:10 pm #

    That seriously looks good…Good job!!!

Leave a Reply

