WIAW: NIXS Evergreen

3 Feb

Happy hump day! I am feeling so great this week and still coming off of a fabulous weekend that I can’t stop thinking about. I’m here to tell you all about the incredible blogger event that I attended at NIXS Evergreen in South Windsor.

NIXS Evergreen is a funky, hip, and new-to-South Windsor restaurant which focuses on unique and seasonal food items along with craft cocktails. As soon as I had heard that NIXS was coming to Evergreen Walk (they have a Hartford location also), I was more than excited to try it out. Bonnie from Home Place Blog reached out to me and invited me to attend a blogger event hosted by head chef, Sean DeLaRosa.

We chatted for quite a while before we finally decided to order some cocktails. I enjoyed the Moscow Mistress, which I have previously had at their grand opening event, and it was just as tasty as I remembered. I usually don’t enjoy too much of a ginger flavor but this drink was so refreshing!

NIXS cocktail

Bonnie ordered a couple of cheese plates for the table as well as some wings for us to try to get us started. As you all know, cheese is my favorite thing in the world so I was in heaven. I didn’t get to try any of the wings but I definitely ate my weight in cheese.

NIXS cheese

NIXS wings

Once we had devoured the cheese and wings, we each chose an item to order off of the “shareables” portion of the menu. I went with the Naked Spicy Tuna which was tuna tartare, avocado, and cucumber all tossed in spicy mayo and placed on top of rice. I had such a hankering for sushi and this hit the spot. It was just the right amount of spicy so that I was still able to enjoy the incredible and fresh flavor of the tuna.

NIXS tuna

Some of us ordered the same items while others went for others, such as the mac and cheese, sliders, and the lobster tater tots (yes I said lobster tater tots!). As soon as we were all done taking our pictures (#bloggerlife), the table got pretty silent as everyone was clearly enjoying their food to the fullest.

NIXS blogger event

After we finished our meals, our lovely waitress brought out one of each item that was on the dessert menu for us to share. I can only say that the s’mores were out of this world and I will be ordering them again very soon. Obviously I didn’t get a picture of the s’mores because I was too busy devouring them but I did get a picture of the ice cream sandwiches and the Zeppoles.

NIXS ice cream sandwiches

NIXS donuts

NIXS ron

Ron was very proudly displaying those Zeppoles 🙂

This event was one of the best yet and I highly recommend heading to NIXS Evergreen for lunch or dinner or even just drinks and appetizers (and those s’mores for dessert). I want to extend a big thank you to Bonnie for inviting me and I also want to say that it was truly wonderful to spend an afternoon with some of the best bloggers out there.

2 Responses to “WIAW: NIXS Evergreen”

  1. Bonnie February 3, 2016 at 10:14 pm #

    So glad you had a good time! I love these mid-afternoon tasting meetups – we need to do more of them.

    This was my first time at Evergreen Walk and I can’t wait to go back and do some more shopping – and visit NIXS! And these pics are just making me more hungry!!

  2. Anne February 5, 2016 at 12:30 pm #

    Great to see you last week. I missed out on the tater tots – I got a picture of them though 🙂

Leave a Reply

