In Total Agreement

9 Feb

Tuesday is usually my least favorite day of the week but since the roads are still pretty yucky here, I get to work from home again today, and for that, I am very appreciative of this Tuesday. Life has been pretty darn wonderful lately so I really have nothing to complain about. I think that Dan and I are in total agreement about that!

Friday evening was spent (unpictured) having homemade pizza at Cheyne and Miko’s. I consider it a great night when I’m enjoying myself so much that I forget to take a single picture.

Dan was sick for almost all of last week so I was very thankful that when Saturday came around, he was finally feeling up to being out and about. Saturday started off with complete relaxation while Dan was out doing the rest of the snow removal at work. I cannot remember the last time I actually took time to enjoy my coffee and mindless television on a Saturday morning. It was so nice!

Saturday relaxation

We had reservations for Taste of Hartford at Firebox in Hartford on Saturday evening and I was super excited. The Taste of Hartford meant that we got a three-course meal for $30.16 each! Firebox is a farm-to-table restaurant which is located in an old firehouse (aka right up Dan’s alley). I will let the photos speak for themselves but I can say that it was one of the most delicious meals we have ever had the pleasure of enjoying and we will definitely be back! After dinner, we had drinks with Dan’s parents and then headed to Brian and Natasha’s house to hang out for a while. I love spending time with so many wonderful people!

Firebox drink

Apple Orchard Fizz (apple infused gin, st. germain, apple cider, lemon juice, egg white)

firebox salad

Beet salad

Fire Box salmon

Black Pearl Salmon.. that herb sauce on top was incredible!

Firebox ricotta ravioli

Dan’s Ricotta Ravioli.. so rich and delicious!

I was proactive on Saturday and got the grocery shopping done so that Sunday morning was spent cleaning and cooking for the Super Bowl. We had a small get together with SO much food and although the game was not the most exciting one in recent years, it was nice to enjoy time with our friends and munch on all of the yummy food. Our food spread included: Garlic Garlic dip, veggies with hummus, Moe’s guac and chips, Alex’s taco dip, buffalo chicken dip, cheese and crackers, chicken wings from The Diamond, and this skinny macaroni and cheese which I made for the first time.

Superbowl 2016 spread

As I said, I think that Dan and I are in total agreement that our weekends have been so much fun lately, with a good mix of going out and relaxing at home. Balance is definitely key and I think we are achieving that.

tea and reading

Last night was spent on the couch with a good book and lots of tea

I hope you all have a wonderful week and if all goes well, I will be back on Friday with a Fashion Friday post so stay tuned!

One Response to “In Total Agreement”

  1. Anne February 9, 2016 at 8:36 pm #

    So sad I missed Restaurant week – Firebox dinner looks so good!

Leave a Reply

