Foodie Friday: Cookshop Plus

26 Feb

Happy Friday! I have had so much going on within the last week that I honestly haven’t even had a second to sit down and write. Very big and exciting things happening around here! Although I have been super busy, I had to make time to tell you guys about an awesome event I attended last Saturday at Cookshop Plus in West Hartford.

Cookshop Plus is a new cooking store owned by Terry & Joanne Ryan and James & Samantha Hines. They are Australian natives and the original Cookshop Plus location is located in Bowral, Australia which is just outside of Sydney. The store carries a wide range of different products, from small kitchen appliances to several products which are unique to Australia. One thing which sets them aside from other cooking stores is that they have an in-store coffee bar, which uses coffee beans from Neat Coffee and baked goods from Hartford Baking Company.

Cookshop 1

The coffee bar was where we started the event and each of us ordered a coffee or hot chocolate off of their menu. I chose a flat white which was absolutely incredible and may be my new favorite coffee style. Hartford Baking Company provided an array of pastries and I devoured a fantastic Cranberry scone and Dan enjoyed a cheese danish.

cookshop 2

cookshop 3

After we enjoyed our coffee and pasties, we poked around the store for a little while. I wanted one of everything in the store and it definitely made me aspire to do more cooking. I ended up leaving with a garlic press and a cheese/vegetable grater, which were two things we desperately needed (or wanted, really).

James then provided us with a great knife demonstration and I definitely learned a few things. For example, I had no idea that you shouldn’t put knives in the dishwasher because the detergent can dull the blade. The store offers several different brands of knives, including Global, Savannah, Messermeister, and Wusthof. We also learned that the bread knife is one of the most under-appreciated knives as it can also be used for several other purposes such as carving.

cookshop 4

Once James was done with his presentation, the owner of Hartford Baking Company, Scott Kluger, provided us with a pretzel making demonstration. Since there weren’t any ovens at the store, he showed us how they form their pretzels and then told us a lot about the process of making them. I have yet to visit Hartford Baking Company but I will be there in a couple of weeks for an event and I can’t wait to sample more goodies!

cookshop 5

Check out Anne rolling her pretzel!

It was such a fun, relaxing event which was perfect for a Sunday morning. We will definitely be back to Cookshop Plus since I have a feeling we will be in the market for some more kitchen stuff in the near future 😉

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

