Five Things Friday: Relief

16 Sep

Happy Friday y’all! I hope you have had a wonderful week. I’m not going to lie, as I hate when people put up a false pretense and always pretend everything is so happy happy when it’s not. This week has been rough to say the least but things are finally looking up (hopefully) so it is quite a relief for it to be Friday and to be able to be more positive. I figured I haven’t done one of these in a while so here are a few random thoughts from me to you.

  • Having good friends and family is priceless. I’m going to get the sappy stuff out of the way but I’m very lucky, to say the least. Quality friendships are hard to come by and I feel that I have some really great ones. My husband is my biggest supporter and for that I am SO lucky. Yesterday we were able to go for a nice little hike to the spot where we got engaged and it was exactly what I needed at the time. He is truly the best 🙂

dan-and-shawna-hike-091516

  • Our dinners this week have been pretty great. We did get takeout a couple of times due to exhaustion and not having any desire to cook, but we enjoyed a couple of great meals too. One meal was a chicken alfredo stuffed spaghetti squash from this recipe and another was a stuffed sweet potato with some amazing homemade peach basil salsa made by my coworker.

stuffed-spaghetti-squash-091516

stuffed-sweet-potato-091516

  • Fall decorating is in full swing around here. As I have previously mentioned, I’m not too big into fall as Christmas and winter are more my style but I’m loving decorating our house for fall for the first time! I went to Michael’s this week and picked up a ton of cute decor for just around $20.

fall-decor-kitchen-table-091516

fall-decor-mantle-091516

fall-decor-front-door-c-091516

  • Meal prepping is life. We purchased some containers from Groupon and have been trying to meal prep for the week each Sunday and it has been fabulous. Lunch is one less thing to worry about during the week and we are loving it. This week we did grilled chicken, riced cauliflower, and roasted asparagus.

meal-prep-091516

meal-prep-2-091516

  • The Big E is open starting today and I could not be more excited. For those who aren’t local, it is a big fair in Massachusetts which celebrates the different states of New England. We are planning on going tomorrow for half the day and then we are also going Thursday evening as well and I’m hoping to maybe fit in another evening too. It is one of my absolute favorite places to go and I can’t wait to partake in the fair food and visit the state buildings as those are the best!
big-e-shipyard-pumpkin-ale

Last year’s pumpkin beer, can’t wait to have another one this year!

That is all for today! I hope you guys have a wonderful weekend filled with all of the fall things 🙂

One Response to “Five Things Friday: Relief”

  1. Meg Taylor September 16, 2016 at 10:44 am #

    Can I just tell you that I’ve never been to the Big E? (Embarrassing for a girl who lived in New England for 25 years haha!) I hope you have a great weekend and all your food this week looks soooo good – especially that squash!

    Meg, Borrowed Heaven

Leave a Reply

