Five Things Friday: More Fall, More Happy

17 Oct

Happy Friday!! I know that I haven’t posted at all in the last week but to be completely honest, I have been SO tired and very busy this week too. There have also been very few workouts this week so I’m just going to chalk this week up as an overall loss and move on.

1. I have discovered a new vegetable that I am loving, the leek. Last Friday, Dan and I went to dinner at Barcelona Wine Bar and one of the tapas we ordered were leeks and they were amazing. I honestly don’t think I have ever tried them before but the way that Barcelona prepared them, they were salty and garlicky and perfect. I’m on a mission to find a recipe so that I can prepare them at home too!

I kind of ate this whole thing by myself

I kind of ate this whole thing by myself

2. Spontaneous plans are the best kind of plans. Last night, Dan and I had dinner cooking in the crockpot when his parents texted us to meet them at 2 Hopewell in South Glastonbury for dinner. I had been wanting to try this restaurant forever so we decided to freeze some of the food that was cooking and save the rest for tonight’s dinner. I am SO glad we did because I enjoyed a fabulous mixed beets salad that included avocado, mozzarella, tomatoes, and a beet jam which was out of this world. I can’t wait to go back and try more of their menu items!

Colorado Lemongrass martini = pretty and delish

Colorado Lemongrass martini = pretty and delish

This salad was literally the perfect size

This salad was literally the perfect size

3. I am still on a total fall-loving kick and I am not sorry about it. I am loving the cozy clothes and the fact that I get to use my crockpot all the time. I have been using it at least once a week and last night we made a loaded baked potato soup from Cooking Classy which I did not take any pictures of the finished product because it looks like gross baby food but it obviously tastes amazing.

This is the before when it still looked good

This is the before when it still looked good

4. Our other dinners this week were pretty delicious too! My two particular favorites were the store bought frozen pizza that Dan jazzed up with two over easy eggs and the Trader Joe’s turkey burgers topped with pepper jack cheese and jalapeños (Dan’s idea and so amazing). I have not had a bad food item from Trader Joe’s and I highly recommend those turkey burgers as they are the first turkey burgers I have eaten that have made me forget that I’m not eating a real burger.

Obviously had to pair it with a salad with ranch

Obviously had to pair it with a salad with ranch

I could eat this every single night

I could eat this every single night

5. Tomorrow we are headed to Dan’s cousins wedding in Rhode Island. It will be so beautiful and I can’t wait to eat all the food and dance the night away. I bought a new dress which I am pretty excited to wear and for once I know I will be comfy in my dress throughout the night.

I'm so excited to finally have a hi-low dress!

I’m so excited to finally have a hi-low dress!

I hope you all have a fabulous and fun weekend! 🙂

Leave a comment